Friday, November 2, 2007

Siouxsie & the Banshees

Siouxsie and the Banshees were a British rock band that formed in 1976. Led by the singer Siouxsie Sioux and the bassist Steven Severin, the band's only constant members, the Banshees formed in the wake of the Punk scene and soon became one of the major bands in the post-punk movement. Their eclectic music influenced a large range of very diverse bands over the years amongst them The Cure, Tricky and more recently LCD Soundsystem. The group released a total of eleven studio albums from 1978 to 1995. The Banshees remain cult today. (

Friday, 2 September 1983, "Grote Zaal", 21:00 - 22:00

Line up
Siouxsie Sioux – vocals; Robert Smith – guitar; Steve Severin – bass; Budgie – drums

Set list
01 Overground
02 Green fingers
03 Cascade
04 Paradise place
05 Dear Prudence
06 Red over white
07 Nightshift
08 Sin in my heart
09 We hunger
10 Arabian knights
11 She's a carnival
12 Switch
13 Spellbound
14 Voodoo dolly

A complete audience recording exists, I have tracks 04 – 07 from a radio broadcast.

Slideshow set to Night Shift from Pandora's 83 as uploaded to YouTube by Oloferne8181.

Other info

Steve Severin and Siouxsie on stage at Pandora's 83 (Vinyl 1983/9)

Robert Smith doing something to a guitar before, during or after the show (Vinyl 1983/9)

Robert Smith chatting to (adoring female) fans (Vinyl magazine 1983/9)

John McGeogh (playing Pandora's 83 with the Armoury Show) used to play guitar for the Banshees (1980 - 82). John Valentine Carruthers (playing Pandora's 83 with Clock DVA) would join the Banshees in 1985, replacing Robert Smith.

Siouxsie & the Banshees released the live double album Nocturne which was recorded four weeks later (September 30 and October 1) in London’s Royal Albert Hall. Loads of excellent pictures of the September 30 gig can be found here:

No comments: